Action Steps to Close Cohort 2 (2023-24)

Modified on Tue, 07 May 2024 at 10:16 AM

As Cohort 2 draws to an end, you will need to complete a series of action steps. This article covers all the actions you'll need to take to close the year.


TABLE OF CONTENTS


What do I do if I have Fellows returning for Cohort 3?


DO NOT ARCHIVE FELLOWS WHO WILL SERVE IN COHORT 3.


For Fellows who served in any previous Cohort and will serve in Cohort 3 at your campus, you will only follow Steps 1 - 3. 


Only after Fellows have completed Cohort 2, you can follow the steps in this article to enroll them into Cohort 3


STEP 1: Avoid Getting Stuck! 

We'd love to ensure that the process is as smooth as possible for you. 


There are two things you can do to ensure Fellows are ready to wrap up Cohort 2. 

  1. If you have any pending time sheets, approve them here. 

  2. If Fellows have partially approved time sheets, ensure they are fully approved. 


STEP 2: Get an Export of Approved & Pending Hours for Your Fellows

After you've followed steps 1 & 2 (above), follow these steps to get an export of the number of Approved hours for each Fellow. 


VERY IMPORTANT: 
You will need to perform this step to for all Fellows (even Fellows returning to serve with Cohort 3).


This will help when updating their Completion Status.


  1. On the left-hand side of your Mission Controlclick Fellows, Staff & Community Host Partners.

  2. On the right, click Manage fellows accounts.

  3. Towards the top-right, use the More drop-down menu to select Export Fellows.

  4. Choose how you’d like to organize your roster: select By Fellow Name and click Select All.

  5. On the right, click the Select Fields to Include button.

  6. Next, choose the following fields: First Name, Last Name, Email Address, Pending Hours, Approved Hours, and the field for the 2023-24 (Cohort 2) time sheet template, Returning for Cohort 3? and Completion Status.



  7. Next, click the Export to Excel button to download your Excel worksheet.

    Download your report from the pop-up window. Be sure your web browser’s settings allow pop-ups from the americalearns.net domain.


  8. Lastly, review the Excel download

    If you have Fellows with any pending hours, you'll need to care for these BEFORE proceeding to the next step.



STEP 3: Updating the 'Completion Status' and 'Returning for Cohort 3?' Field

Follow the steps in this short video to update and upload the Completion Status and Returning for Cohort 3? field data for your Fellows.


To complete this step, your Excel export (from STEP 2) should include the following columns: 

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • E-mail Address
  • Approved Hours
  • Pending Hours 
    • The value in this column should be ZERO. If it isn't you must ensure all time is approved before proceeding.
  • Returning for Cohort 3? 
    • The value should be 'Yes' for Fellows returning for Cohort 3 or 'No' for Fellows not returning for Cohort 3.
  • Cohort 2 Completion Status



 

Here is the list of Completion Statuses and their definitions:


StatusDefinition
01: Full Term: Completed (served 450+ hours) Fellow served 450+ hours.
02: Full Term: Graduated (served 300-449 hours)Fellow served between 300-449 hours.
03: Full Term: Served 299 hours or lessFellow served through the end of the program date but did not serve 300+ hours.
04: Early Exit: Compelling Personal CircumstanceFellow exited the program due to serious illness, death of an immediate family member, etc. Conditions outside of the Fellow's control.
05: Early Exit: Student had insufficient timeCollege Corps is too much of a time commitment.
06: Early Exit: Student is no longer eligibleFellow did not maintain full-time enrollment, transferred to another institution, etc.
07: Early Exit: Dissatisfaction with the programFellow is dissatisfied with the College Corps program and determined it is not a good fit.
08: Early Exit: Other




STEP 4: Archive Cohort 2 Fellows

DO NOT ARCHIVE FELLOWS WHO WILL SERVE IN COHORT 3.


Have Fellows returning to serve in Cohort 3? DO NOT archive these Fellows. Instructions for this step will be available soon. Stay tuned.


IMPORTANT: Archiving a Fellow's account will prevent them from logging in, receiving communications, and remove them from certain reports. 

ARCHIVING DOES NOT DELETE DATA.


Deactivating a Fellow's account does not archive them.


To archive a group of Fellows, start by logging into the Fellow Impact Suite.

  1. On the left, in your Mission Control, click Fellows, Staff, & Community Host Partners.

  2. On the right, click Manage fellow accounts.

  3. Use the Customize a View Section near the top of the page.

  4. Check the following boxes: 

    • Your Custom Panels

    • Fellow Details - Cohort 2 (2023-24)

    • Returning for Cohort 3?

    • Then, click View.

  5. Now, organize your Fellows by Returning for Cohort 3 by clicking the label at the top of the table. (For a visual reference, please click See Steps above.)

  6. Select all of the Fellows who are not returning for Cohort 3.

  7. Open the drop-down menu and select Archive (#).


*If you are unable to archive Fellows using this method, please reference this article: Why Can't I Archive My Fellow?


**Would you like to learn how to export time sheets to PDF for your records? Check out this article.


Need to update one or more Fellows manually? Check out this article.



STEP 5: Archiving Community Host Partners 

You will need to archive Community Host Partners who will not host Fellows in Cohort 3. 


VERY IMPORTANT: Do not perform this step until all time sheets are approved for Cohort 2.


Archive More Than One Community Host Partner

Follow these steps to archive them en masse: 

  1. On the left, in your Mission Control, click the Fellows, Staff, & Community Host Partners.

  2. At the bottom of the page, select Manage community host partners & campuses. 

  3. Scroll down to see your list of sites.

  4. Select the checkboxes alongside those you’d like to archive.
  5. In the “Select action” drop-down menu at the top, you’ll see a number to the right: Archive (#). That number confirms the total number of Community Host Partners that you have selected.

  6. Open the drop-down menu and select the option that corresponds with the action you’d like to take: Archive.

REMEMBER: Archiving a Community Host Partner will not remove any data associated with that Community Host Partner, and the archived site can be restored at any time.



Need to archive one or more Community Host Partner manually? Check out this article.



STEP 6: Archiving Community Host Partner Supervisors 

After archiving a Community Host Partner, you need to also archive any Community Host Partner Supervisors who will not supervise Fellows in Cohort 3. 


VERY IMPORTANT: Do not perform this step until all time sheets are approved for Cohort 2.


Archive More Than One Community Host Partner Supervisor

Here's how to archive more than one supervisor simultaneously:

  1. On the left, in your Mission Control, click Fellows, Staff, & Community Host Partners.

  2. Under the Manage Staff section, click Manage staff accounts.

  3. Select the checkboxes alongside the supervisors whose accounts you'd like to archive.

  4. In the "Select action" drop-down menu at the top, you'll see a number to the right of the "Select action" text. That number confirms the total number of supervisors that you have selected.

  5. Open the drop-down menu and click Archive Selected.
Need to archive Community Host Partner Supervisors manually? Check out this article.



STEP 7: Archiving Campus Staff 

If you have any campus staff who will not be returning to support Cohort 3, you can archive those accounts now.


Archive More Than One Campus Staff Member

Here's how to archive more than one campus staff member simultaneously:

  1. On the left, in your Mission Control, click Fellows, Staff, & Community Host Partners.

  2. Under the Manage Staff section, click Manage staff accounts.

  3. Select the checkboxes alongside the staff members whose accounts you'd like to archive.

  4. In the "Select action" drop-down menu at the top, you'll see a number to the right of the "Select action" text. That number confirms the total number of staff members that you have selected.

  5. Open the drop-down menu and click Archive Selected.
Need to archive Campus Staff manually? Check out this article.



How do I enroll a Fellow from Cohort 2 into Cohort 3?

Only after Fellows have completed Cohort 2, you can follow the steps in this article to enroll them into Cohort 3. 


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article